The Purge: Anarchy (2014)

Release Date

July 18th 2014

Cast and Crew

Directed by James DeMonaco

Produced by Jason Blum, Michael Bay, Andrew Form, Brad Fuller, Sebastien Lemercier

Written by James DeMonaco

Frank Grillo
Carmen Ejogo
Zach Gilford
Kiele Sanchez
Michael K. Williams

Plot and Summary

In the 2010s following an economic collapse, the New Founding Fathers of America (NFFA) have taken over, instituted anarchy, and reinstated themselves as the new totalitarian government. Using the 28th amendment to the United States Constitution, they established one night a year—сalled "the Purge"—in which all crime is legal and all police, fire, and medical emergency services are shut down for 12 hours, from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m.

The purge has resulted in crime rates plummeting, unemployment rates at 1% and a strong economy. Although the population believes it is simply an act of catharsis, in reality, it is used as a method of artificial population control, as the people living in poverty and poor neighborhoods are usually the main targets.

Video 1

Video 2

Video 3

Liked this? You may also like
More related: